After successful login to the system you'll have administration menu presented on the left side, while content of selected module will be displayed on the right side. Initially, you can read some useful information about system here. In administration menu, you're able to manage other users accounts and create or restore database backups.
You can select any module to work with on the left panel. There are also buttons allowing you to change your password, logout or do a quick search for customers/computers/helpdesk. You can search by name or id, but also additionally by computer name, surname, fragment of address, phone, email, IP or MAC. If there are more than one matching record for your search you'll get only first result.
This is where all basic information about system that is running LMS are displayed. It lists the following information: LMS core and components versions, copyright notice, uptime and kernel version of your server, customers and nodes totals, computer activity totals and financial balance. Additionally all LMS links are gathered here.
'Users' panel is designed for LMS users (ie. network administrators) management. You can create or modify any account here, change assigned passwords and access rights.
For more information on access rights, see Section 2.7.
Initially after selecting 'Users', you'll get list of all users with last login time and host information. When you click on the account, you're able to see it's details, including defined access rights. You can modify data any time by clicking 'Edit' link. To create new user use left panel and click 'New user'.
In order to create new user, you need to provide at least login name and non empty password. Name and email fields are optional. Allowed hosts is a coma separated list of host or network IP addresses in 'allow_from' configuration option style. If that list is empty, hosts checking is skipped. Below you can mark specific system access rights. If you leave all those fields unchecked (default), user will be granted with 'full access'.
You can manage your database backup copies here. Database copy is plain text file with SQL statements needed to reconstruct all tables and it's data, which is saved in directory defined with backup_dir variable in [directories] section of lms.ini.
By default your backups will be placed in lms/backups directory, which could be accessed with your browser, without any authentication, so it's wise to move it above your Web Server DocumentRoot.
All copies can be viewed, removed or downloaded to your computer at any time. By clicking on 'recover' icon your current database will be deleted and replaced by the one in backup copy. For your safety, before such operation current database backup is performed automatically.